Living Here

Stretched along the foothills of the Rocky Mountains, Jefferson County, CO is a thriving suburban, business, industrial, recreational and residential community. The county, formally organized in 1861 by the Colorado Territorial Legislature, takes the name of Thomas Jefferson, the third president of the United States.

Community Demographics

Median Household Income

median household income

Per Capita Personal Income

per capita income

Jeffco Housing Costs

jeffco housing costs


climate icons


Jefferson County is the fourth-largest county in Colorado. Its citizens make their homes on mountain tops as well as in suburban communities. The county is home to twelve incorporated communities including:

Arvada Lakeside  Mountain View
Bow Mar Lakewood  Superior
Edgewater Littleton  Westminster
Golden Morrison  Wheat Ridge

Jefferson County also boasts thriving lifestyle communities that provide a balance of housing, culture, and outdoor recreation opportunities, which include Applewood, Aspen Park, Bergen Park, Buffalo Creek, Conifer, Evergreen, Genesee, Idledale, Indian Hills, Kittredge, Pine, and South Jeffco.


Created by a vote of Jefferson County citizens in 1972 to preserve open space land for present and future generations, this nationally recognized program is funded by a 0.5% sales tax on the county’s retail sales. To-date, the program has acquired 43,675 acres with 236 trail miles, and sees over 2.4 million visitors annually.

Share This